Minutes of AGM

5th June 2024

Balcony Bar, Cheshire Sports Club

1. Apologies

Rossett, Rory Formstone Roberts

Delamere, Jane Wright

Tarporley, Judi Jennings

Stella, Andy Gibbons

Ellesmere Port, Jackie Parry

Tarporley, Howard Malyon

West Cheshire, Lyn Brown

Westminster, Sairam

2. Present

Halton, Avril Sloan and Derek Neary

Christleton, Emma Hilton, Judith Hughes, Sara Lawrence and Louise Nesbitt

Eros, Sheila Palmer

Frodsham, Debbie Owen and Mark Perry

Cap Vaux, Sheila Henry

Rossett, Alan Matthias, Jo Sanderson and Colin Fowler

Buckley, Alex Mutch

Connahs Quay, Ann Hipkiss

Tarporley, Mark Prior

West Cheshire, Steve Brown

Millbrook, Tom Longdin

Tigers, Jay Tumati and Vinay.

CCO, Jan Bridge

- 3. Minutes of meeting held on 27th Jan 2024 agreed
- 4. Award of Colin Copping Trophy

5. Reports

A. Treasurer.

The accounts for the year ended 30 April 2024 showed a deficit of £188, with remaining league reserves carried forward of £4,476. No team or player registration contributions were requested in the year in order to support individual clubs financially. The purpose of the reserves balance was explained and given the relatively healthy reserve position, once again it was decided that no team or player registrations would be sought in the forthcoming year.

B. County Matters,

Full details of all County teams reported on the county website. It was stated that the County is keen to support all Junior initiatives within clubs. For more information please contact Karl Burgh, contact details on the Cheshire website. This seasons Baxter Trophy was won by Chester League. County AGM will take place on 10th July, 7pm at Hinderton Arms.

C. Tournament Update,

Eros won the handicapped tournament this year. It was suggested that a mens tournament be held next season. This will require a volunteer to organise it. There are members in the league who can advise and support.

D. Junior feedback,

It is hoped that a small league can be set up next season for the junior clubs. Teams of 4 players, Emma Hilton can be contacted for information.

6. Rule Changes

None submitted

7. League Officials

Unless there are interested individuals the Committee to remain the same.

Howard Malyon has resigned as Vice Chair, A volunteer is required.

A volunteer/volunteers required to run next seasons handicap tournament.

Tom Longdin to run The Baxter interleague tournament next season.

Rob Jones has volunteered to coordinate Mens league score sheets.

Judith Hughes has volunteered to coordinate Ladies league score sheets.

8. AOB

Fixture meeting 31st July 2024, County offices.

 All clubs to confirm teams entering leagues next season by 18th July 2024 to Lyn Brown

Details of Summer clubs posted on the League Website. Jan Bridge co ordinating.

ADDENDUM

Recipient of the Colin Copping Trophy - Mike Denham CCO

Mike has been with the club nearly 50 years. He has undertaken various roles in that time but is currently a vital member of our management team and, as Club Captain, our total lynch pin.

From a practical point of view he represents the club at all the league meetings and organises the fixtures. He sets up the courts, sorts the shuttles and, every year, is captain of at least one of our teams, ringing round to check availability and ensuring all players get a game.

But it is the support he provides to our members which sets him apart. He is there for everyone - attending matches and coming down to club night even when injured and not playing himself. His total commitment to the club is greatly appreciated by all at CCO.